The V. Garrison Williams Primary School was founded in a home on Boissevain Avenue in 1927 as a non-sectarian private school for boys and girls. In 1933 the school settled in its present building at the corner of Colonial and Fairfax Avenues. Additions and renovations have occurred during the years, but the building still reflects the charm and elegant atmosphere of a fine home.
The name of the school was Garrison-Williams School from 1934 until 1977 when it became a tax-exempt organization and legally adopted its present name, The Williams School. In 1985 and again in 1996 our school completed extensive renovations which expanded its library, science laboratory, art and music room, computer room, classroom space and dining facilities all while retaining its unique architectural elements.